Come Alive (Experiment in Terror, #7) by Karina Halle (Heather’s Review) 5 Stars

WARNING

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Come Alive was EVERYTHING I hoped it would be….and then some….
Comical
Romantic
Racy
Intense
Heartbreaking
Gut-wrenching
Terrifying
BRILLIANT

I couldn’t put it down……NO…I didn’t want to put it down
 photo tumblr_mm00pfuKu01ry734eo1_250_zps0147f3b2.gif

“So fucking horny”
If this happenes to be the opening line of your book…..there MUST be something a tiny bit awesome about it…..

Written ENTIRELY from Dex’s POV, Come Alive picks up where Into the Hollow left off. Dex and Perry are trying to deal with the aftereffects of their “Sasquatch” encounter, while trying to traverse this new relationship blossoming between them.  Dex and Perry head back to Seattle to test the waters of their new found emotions.

Perry is still growing emotionally, and remains a tad insecure.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Dex’s POV provides a different insight into all the changes occurring.

As they try to settle into a routine, they are blindsided by Jimmy who threatens to cancel EiT.  They have ONE shot to redeem themselves with ONE last show…..only this time…..they are forced to add a babysitter third member to their team.  Unfortunately, this so called “show saver” just so happens to be the one….the only…..Maximus.
eyeroll gif photo:  EyeRoll.gif

EiT heads to New Orleans, Maximus’ hometown, to film a haunted house under the direction of the douchekabob.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

It is in NOLA, that we are introduced to several new characters who add a whole other dynamic to the story.  Meet Rose…. the mysterious “friend” from Max’s past, Mambo Maryse….the voodoo priestess, and Ambrosia….the voodoo apprentice.  It is also here that we learn who Maximus really is (this character was introduced in The Devils Metal…..if you have not read it, then you should) and what he means to Dex.  Prepare yourself for the shock…
 photo tumblr_mm1oe1vlME1s7k8ulo1_400_zpsdc22540b.gif

After a frightening encounter at the haunted house, Dex, Perry, and Maximus end up getting sucked into the world of Voodoo and Zombies.
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Everything starts to take a turn for terrible in no time.  After learning who Max is, and what his potential future has in store for him, Dex forces himself to make a decision so awful, he might not survive it…..
Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

“I realized it didn’t mean anything without Perry by my side. She was my reason for living. She was the reason I’d come alive in the first place.”

I think my heart actually broke…..I may have cried a little….
crying gif photo: emily fitch crying. gif.gif

I wanted to slap Dex….
slap gif photo: Slap the bitch MadMenSlap.gif

I wanted to comfort Dex……I wanted to protect Perry and knock some sense into her as well….I wanted to peg Maximus in the balls with a pitch fork.   AARRRGGHHHHHHHHH!!!  I wanted to scream   I just wanted to get to the end and pray that they all lived happily ever after…

“Don’t let other people tell you how well you know someone,” she added. “Don’t let other people, no matter who they are, decide what happens to your life and hers. You will live a lifetime of regret if you let others influence your decisions. Believe me.” -Rose

With everything that is happening, there are many revelations that come to light for both Dex and for Perry…..well more so for Perry.  We all already know from In the Hollow that Dex is completely, madly, and wildly in love with Perry.

“You’re mine. And you’re mine alone. From now until the end of time.”

‘Oh God, I was lucky to have loved her. So, so lucky.
“Dex!” she yelled again, my eyes closing. “You are not leaving me! I cannot go on without you. You are my future, you are my everything!” She started crying and kissing my face. My head sunk under.’

“I love you, I’ve loved you from the very start. And…sometimes I think I can’t possibly love you more. And then I do. You fill me up and break my own heart open, you know? It just creates more room. There is no limit. I love you, I love you, I love you and I’ll die saying it because I was born to feel it. I am in love with you, you wonderful, funny, handsome man.” –Perry

“But I wasn’t the only one who’d come alive. Perry did when she told me she loved me.
She loved me.
She loved me.”

Dex and Perry have been through some terrifying stuff throughout the Experiment in Terror but I found this installment the most hazardous thus far….
I LOVED that whole book was in Dex’s POV. Everything that came  out of that charming man’s mouth was witty, entertaining, and just plain brilliant.  His flamboyant language did not disappoint. His banter with Perry, his zingers, his heartfelt and adoring declarations….all of it….perfect.
Dex’s dialogue was the perfect combination of sappy  and pervy. One moment he was a lewd pervert…….

“She just looked scared, like a baby deer. A totally fuckable baby deer. Jesus, Dex, i told myself. Get a grip before you start imagining her on Animal Planet.”

……..but genuine and passionate the next…..

“Baby,” I managed to say when I held it together long enough, “Baby, I love you, more than ever, more than anything in the fucking world. You are my world. And all I’ve ever wanted is for me to be yours.”

Katrina Halle…….you have completely blown my mind.
mind blown gif photo: Mind Blown bonesmindblown.gif

I think I have a lady boner for you.  I cannot wait for Ashes to Ashes….could you please do us all  favor and release this early?  Thank you….that is all.

We LOVE to hear from you! :-)

