Madeleine Abducted (The Estate, #1) by M.S. WIllis (Heather’s Review) 4 Stars

made

4 Twisted and Bloody Stars

The Estate…..

Run by Joseph Carmichael, a twisted, sadistic, warped son of a bitch.  He does what he wants and no one can do anything about it.
He is master and ruler of all the Estate encompasses….including its occupants.

Aaron, the son of a monster…the heir to the Estate.  He kills and tortures men for the Estate.  He is the Executioner.  He is in a constant battle with the dark side that is his father.

Madeleine is a cellist….sweet…innocent…timid…brilliant .  She finds solace in her music.  She lives in her own sheltered world…until one night, she is abducted from the only life she has known and dragged into Hell.

“You are now a slave. You caught the attention of the man to whom you now belong. You are to do as you are told without asking questions and you are to follow instructions exactly as they are given. Obedience is demanded from this point further. Any infraction on your part will have dire circumstances. Do you understand?”

Madeleine is a gift.  An attempt by Joseph to reel Aaron into the underworld and make him the rightful heir that he should be.

“She is a slave, Aaron. I want to make sure that you understand that fact”

To survive, Madeleine has no other choice but to submit to Aaron and do as he says.  Through her time with Aaron, she sees that he has goodness within his soul and light that tries to shine through.  But Aaron is a man filled with hate for his father…..hate for his work…hate for what he must do to Madeleine.

“If I have to make her hate me in order to save her I will, even if it destroys me in the process.”

It quickly escalates into a deadly game of power and greed…a tug of war between Aaron and Joseph.  Aaron has fallen for the beauty and the innocence that is Madeleine.  He will do everything in his power to make sure that she is safe from the claws of the Estate…and from Joseph who has slipped further and further from sanity.

“She is light while I am darkness, she is raw beauty and so blessedly pure while I am nothing more than a poison to humanity. She deserves her life far more than I deserve mine.”

My Thoughts….
I had to sit on this review for a while because I wasn’t quite sure how to put into words how I felt about the book.  I think it’s a great read.  Well thought out.  Great storyline and great characters.  After sitting on it, I did end up changing my rating from 3 to 4 stars.

From about 83% on though….it felt a little Pulp Fiction-ish….and little unbelievable. A bit….ok A LOT of blood and death.  I just had a hard time with how unreal it was.  Yea yea…I know…IT’S FICTION.  But still…pure chaos at the Estate. It was a bit much for me.

I loved Aaron’s character.  Underneath his armor, he had a heart.  His heart beat for Madeleine from the moment he met her.  He loved her the only way he knew how…and he loved her hard.

Madeleine for me was for the most part your typical slave.  She was scared…as she should have been.  She fought back even though her natural personality was timid.  She proved though, at the end of the book, that she would take no shit and she would rule Hell the best way she knew how.

Joseph….holy bejesus..  He was scary.  Sick…twisted…harsh…brutal.  I have never in my life wanted to kill a fictional character as much as I wanted to kill him.
OFF WITH HIS HEAD!!!

A dark, gritty, seductive, torturous book.  Lots of twists and lots of surprises.
Go on now and one click this sucker!

We LOVE to hear from you! :-)

