◆ Death of the Body by Rick Chiantaretto (Review) 4 STARS ◆

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

◆ Death of the Body ◆

◆ by Rick Chiantaretto ◆

580f3-add-to-goodreads-button31

Synopsis:

I grew up in a world of magic. By the time I was ten I understood nature, talked to the trees, and listened to the wind. When the kingdom of men conquered my town, I was murdered by one of my own—the betrayer of my kind. But I didn’t stay dead.

I woke to find myself in a strange new world called Los Angeles. The only keys to the life I remembered were my father’s ring, my unique abilities, and the onslaught of demons that seemed hell-bent on finding me. Now I must find out who I really am, protect my friends, and get back to my beloved hometown of Orenda.

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

Buy Links:

      8afff-13318153752057989014amazon-md  6c919-amazonukicon 7c250-549822 f5785-kobo-icon

Death of the Body is now also available on Audio.com….how cool is that?

www.audible.com/pd/B00I5N552W/

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

Review

◆ 4 Fantastically Bloody Stars

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

“What if all religions were stories, and all stories were true?”

  
    

Ok…so I am an Urban Fantasy virgin.

I know right? Death of the Body was my FIRST read in this genre. And. WOW. It did not disappoint.
Edmund is a 10 year old boy living in a world of magic.  He lives in the quiet town called Orenda.  He talks with nature…communicates with the Earth herself.

  
    

But. Edmund’s world comes crashing down around him when he and his people are betrayed by one of their own. Edmund in turn….is murdered.

“I watched in disbelief as blood seeped through my fingers and dripped, thick as syrup, to the ground.”

  
    

Waking up a 12 year old boy, Edmund tries to piece together his being and his memories, and how he came to be who he woke up as.  He needs to find a way to get back to Orenda and to avenge his family and his people.
Ok. I don’t want to give much else away.  This book.  It was captivating.  I had a hard time putting it down each time I had to.  Edmund is such a strong character.  He is kindhearted, loyal, and fearless. He looked death in the face and he said “Go to Hell”. Each of the characters in the book brought so much to the story.  Nicholas was the humor.  He was likeable and relatable.  The banter between him and Edmund made them real.  It made them human. Xia.  She was the grounding force of these boys I think.  She is  a tough, mouthy girl…my kind of girl.  The budding romance between her and Edmund adds another aspect to the story.  It adds a softness to the story.

“I caught a mischievous look in her eye just moments before she pressed her lips to mine. The look caused a thrill to ripple through my body, but the greater response was when i felt her melt into my embrace and give way to my lips.”

  
    

Now. Ok. I am not a religious person in any way.  No way whatsoever.  Nadda.  I don’t typically read much of anything that contains religious references, and I do not follow religious practices or keep up on the 411 of religion.  So, that being said, there were times where I was disinterested with all of the religion talk and had a hard time following along.  I had to fight the urge to skim a few times.  And, that was because I didn’t want to miss something important. But. It didn’t deter me from continuing on and experiencing the magical story of Edmund.

That ending.

I couldn’t have even guessed that’s what was going to happen!  The plot takes different twists and turns that it kept me on the edge of my seat and kept me wondering.  Constantly questioning what the future held for the characters.  And shock at the things that did happen.

When I first started reading, I had my assumptions about what was going to happen or what I thought certain things meant.  And those assumptions were basically shattered when I got to the end of the book.
I did have one hang up.  I felt that the ending was a bit rushed.  It just seemed to all end so quickly.  I would have liked to see it play out a little bit more….but then I guess that means the author would have left me with MORE questions about the ending.

Haha!

Rick truly has an amazing ability of describing a person or a scene that draws the reader in.  He gives such a vivid depiction of everything that is happening, you literally feel like you are there.  Like you are experiencing it along with the characters.  You can SEE everything so perfectly.  I am a visual person.  I like the images to be drawn out or described for me.  I like pictures.  I like to see what I am reading.  Rick has done that with this book. He uses words, names, objects that have meaning.  Like for instance. Orenda.  The name of Edmund’s home had meaning.  And that meaning actually makes a lot of sense for the book.

oren•da noun \ōˈrendə\ a supernatural force believed by the Iroquois Indians to be present, in varying degrees, in all objects or persons, and to be the spiritual force by which human accomplishment is attained or accounted for.

I was completely and utterly fascinated by this book and the authors ability to grab my attention and keep it.  Few books have done that  for me as of lately.

So. Bravo Rick.

You made me step out of my perfectly manicured smut box and take a chance on a genre that I would have never given a second thought to.  And I actually enjoyed it.  Now.  Can we please have book two since you left us hanging with book one?

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

Author Bio:

DB_Teaser_3

I’ve often been accused of having done more in my life than the average person my age, but if I were completely honest I’d have to tell you my secret: I’m really 392. So after all this time, I’m a pretty crappy writer. I have one book published but out of print, one coming out soon, and a bunch half written (when you have eternity, where’s the reason to rush?). I’ve been favorably reviewed by horror greats like Nancy Kilpatrick, and my how-to-write-horror articles have been quoted in scholarly (aka community college freshmen’s) papers. I enjoy the occasional Bloody Mary, although a Bloody Kathy or Susan will suffice. Mostly, I just try to keep a low profile so people don’t figure out who I REALLY am.

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

Follow Rick!

Social Media Links:

         6c4d9-websiteicon  3a970-twitter  84ea6-transparent-facebook-logo-icon 6b347-pinteresticon11f52-goodreads_icon

◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇◇◆◇

We LOVE to hear from you! :-)

